Personal Injury Law Firm in Las Vegas, Nevada
The United States is a diverse, vibrant country. Las Vegas is one of those shining beacons of diversity. Our unique city draws millions of visitors from around the world every year who seek the excitement and fun that only Las Vegas can provide.
Despite all the fun and good times to be had in Las Vegas, and sometimes as a result of some people having a bit too much fun and acting reckless or negligently, injuries can occur. If you or a loved one have been injured, you can contact the personal injury attorneys at Kanner & Pintaluga. They will fight for the compensation you deserve to pay for medical bills, lost wages and pain and suffering that resulted from your injury.
The Personal Injury Laws and Statutes of Nevada
Like other states, Nevada is also unique in terms of its laws. Although the statutes that dictate how personal injury lawsuits operate share a lot of similarities throughout the country, that are some unique aspects that vary from state to state.
- In Nevada, people who are injured by negligent drivers, property owners, companies or other people acting recklessly or irresponsibly have two years to file a civil case in Nevada’s courts. It is generally very hard to convince the courts to hear your case after that two-year window has closed, although there are some extenuating circumstances that may affect the court’s opinion. There are several laws that may impact the statute of limitations for injury cases, so it may be in your best interest to speak with an experienced Nevada personal injury attorney to ascertain whether you can still file a lawsuit.
- Personal injury cases aren’t always a black and white affair. In many cases the negligence is shared between the injury victim and the perpetrator of the reckless behavior. Nevada is a shared fault state, which means the court will take the actions of the injured party into account when calculating damages. For example, if you slipped on a puddle in a grocery store and sued to get compensation for your resulting medical bills and it’s determined that there was a wet floor sign that you didn’t see then you may be held partially responsible for your injury. If the verdict was $20,000 and you were found to be 20 percent responsible, you would only receive $16,000 instead of the full $20,000.
- Some states cap the total damages personal injury victims can receive as compensation. Nevada is one of these states. Pain and suffering damages are considered “non-economic” damages. These types of damages are awarded for things like emotional distress or permanent scarring, which are generally hard to quantify with a monetary valuation. There is no cap on economic damages, which are things like lost wages or health care costs relating to your injury, but there is a $350,000 cap for non-economic damages, which includes things like pain and suffering.
- Nevada is a “one bite” state as the law pertains to dog bites. This essentially means that you may not be able to file a lawsuit against a dog owner if you or a loved one are bitten by a dog and it was the dog’s first attack. If the dog owner should have known or was expected to have realized the dog was aggressive or dangerous then they can be held liable. If you are bitten by a dog and it’s the dogs first bite, then the dog owner can argue that they had no idea the dog was dangerous prior to the attack. If the dog were to subsequently bite someone else, then the owner would be liable for those subsequent dog attacks after the first one.
Personal injury cases can get very complicated, and there are a lot of unique laws and rules that may seem counterintuitive or convoluted to people who aren’t well versed in the ins and outs of personal injury lawsuits. At Kanner & Pintaluga, our personal injury attorneys have decades of combined experienced working within the complex statutes regulating personal injury lawsuits.